FINAL REGULATIONS

18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene

PART II. LICENSURE RENEWAL AND FEES.

18 VAC 60-20-20. License renewal and reinstatement.

- A. Renewal fees. Every person holding an active or inactive license, or a teacher's license, full-time faculty license, or a temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March 31, renew his license. Every person holding a teacher's license or a temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew his license.
 - The fee for renewal of an active license <u>or permit</u> shall be \$100 for dentists and \$40 for dental hygienists.
 - 2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be \$65 for dentists and \$25 for dental hygienists.
- B. Penalty fees. Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by March 31 the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an additional penalty fee of \$50 for dentists and \$35 for dental hygienists. The board shall renew a license if the renewal

form, renewal fee, and penalty fee are received by the following April 30 within 30 days of the deadline.

- C. Reinstatement fees and procedures. The license of any person who does not return the completed renewal form and fees by April 30 within 30 days of the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall automatically expire and become invalid and his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be illegal. Upon such expiration, the board shall immediately notify the affected person of the expiration and the reinstatement procedures.
 - Any person whose license has expired who wishes to reinstate such license shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the penalty fee of \$50 for dentists and \$35 for dental hygienists per month for each month or part of a month the license has been expired for a maximum amount of \$600 for dentists and \$420 for dental hygienists.
 - 2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action and additional fines by the board.
 - 3. The executive director shall reinstate such expired license provided that the applicant can demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant has paid all unpaid renewal fees and assessments.
- D. Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or indefinitely suspended. Any person whose license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and

fee of \$750 for dentists and \$500 for dental hygienists. Any person whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of \$350 for dentists and \$250 for dental hygienists.

7	certify t	hat	thic	rogul	lation	ic	full	truo	and	corro	ctly	dated	1
L	ceruiv i	naı	urus	regui	шит	LS	ıuu.	irue.	ana	corre	CUV	ашес	ı.

Marcia J. Miller Executive Director Virginia Board of Dentistry

Date: